An evolutionary thought…

Today I really felt a big shift.

My fiancé Elizabeth and I having our first child in a couple days (due date of course).

It’s one of those big moments in everyone’s life. We all take it on in different ways. For me, coming at childbirth from a masculine perspective is one of thinking and re-thinking. Understanding the swirling movements of our lovers belly is a search for understanding within our minds. The little kicks sure do help to feel rather than think I must say.

As we approach this incredibly beautiful experience I feel such calm. The thoughts don’t even match this knowing feeling deeper inside. It’s awesome and strange. I always thought by the time I’d get to this point I’d be really anxious, with a dose of scared and a sprinkle of ‘faaark’. Nope.

The more advice I’ve had from many others, the closer I’ve come to this calm. There never was a perfect way to give birth to a child I suppose. I just look at my love Elizabeth and see this amazing mother. She is so amazingly calm. I wonder sometimes if she was scared would I be scared. Who knows. It doesn’t matter either really. It’s our little ride. One that billions have taken before, but when it’s your experience it’s like you are Adam and Eve.

We don’t really know how it’s all going to pan out. And the more I think I have no idea the calmer I feel again. All the advice just slips away as the finish is so close. People speak so much about being in the moment. Within the next there will suddenly be enough love for three, and I will feel something that is so big, unable to describe.

So… Here we go.

Tags: , , , , ,

9 Responses to “An evolutionary thought…”

  1. Christine Mcinally Says:

    thinking of you at this most beautiful time – life as you know it is going to change and be enhanced and embedded so beautifully with the birth of your gorgeous little cherub – enjoy the most amazing and humbling experience of your life <3

  2. John Says:

    What a beautiful piece, Johnny, and thank you for letting us share it – you write so well! You’re about to embark on the next stage of your journey through life, and let it be a happy and rewarding one!

  3. John Says:

    I didn’t end my message properly – should have been ‘Dad’

  4. W.Westergren Says:

    Enjoy this moment. I have 3 boys and it’s the best thing in life.
    All the best
    Wil

  5. Nathan Oldfield Says:

    So, so happy for you guys. I can’t wait to hold him!

  6. Christine Mcinally Says:

    Hey Johnny – hoping everything is going well with the beautiful family – thinking of you all at this time of settling in and getting to know each other – lots of blessings :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

